

APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD (For Miami Dade County VITAL RECORDS Use Only)

1350 NW 14th Street # 101 Miami, FL 33125Tel. #305-575-5030
WALK-IN & MAIL ORDERS
8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.

18680 NW 67th Avenue Hialeah, FL 33015 Tel. #305-628-7230 WALK-IN ONLY 8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. 18255 Homestead Avenue Miami, FL 33157 Tel. # 305-278-1046 WALK-IN ONLY 8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.

Requirement for ordering: Anyone may apply for a death certification. When cause of death information is also requested and the death occurred less than 50 years ago, a valid photo identification must accompany this application or if a mail request, a copy of the valid photo identification, front & back, must be provided; AND the applicant OR person being represented must be an eligible person as outlined in statute (see Eligibility on the back of this form). Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided at the bottom of this form when requesting cause of death. If applicant is a funeral director or an attorney, see additional information under Eligibility on back of this form to ensure proper completion of this application.

Acceptable forms of valid ID are: Driver's License, State Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military ID Card. When requesting a death certification without cause of death OR if the death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo identification is not required.

Without cause of death Ore	ii tiic deatii occurre						t required.					
		SEC	TION A	A: DECED	ENT INFORM	ATION						
NAME OF DECEDENT	FIRST				MIDDLE		LAST				SUFFIX	
ALIAS NAME (if applicable)						IF MARRIED FEMALE, MAIDEN			DEN SURNAME (if known) SEX			
DATE OF DEATH	MONTH	DAY	Y	'EAR	ADDITIONAL YEARS TO BE SEARCHED (Required <u>only</u> when exact year of death is <u>not</u> known)			Indicate the <u>range of years</u> to be searched				
PLACE OF DEATH	P	OR TOWN	·	PLACE OF DEATH COUNTY			STATE FILE NUMBER (if known)					
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER if known			FUNERA									
	NAM	IE OF SURV	IVING	SPOUSE A	S RECORDED O	N DEATH I	RECORD					
(if applicable and if known)			MIDDLE LAST			iden, if appl	icable)	SUFFIX				
IMPORTANT INFORMA	TION: Any nerson w	vho willfully a	and know	vingly provid	les any false inforr	nation on a	certificate re	ecord or ren	ort regu	ired by C	hanter 382	
Florida Statutes, or on any ap third degree, punishable as p	plication or affidavit, o rovided in Chapter 775	or who obtain: 5, Florida Stati	s confide utes.	ential informa		Record unde	er false or fra					
				-	_	-						
If requesting cause of death, you represent. Eligibility requ					lent; if a funeral dir	ector or an a	ittorney, you	must enter	the relat	ionship o	f the person	
Applicant's Name TYPE OR PRINT TYPE OR PRINT					DING ANY SUFFIX) SIGNATUR					E OF APPLICANT		
HOME PHONE N	MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO., IF APPLICABLE)					RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT						
ALTERNATE PHON	CITY					STATE	ZIP CODE			DE		
Funeral Director/Attorney a of Deafth Infor	LICENSE/ BAR No. NAME				OF PERSON REPRESENTED			RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT				
DO I	NOT MAIL CASH O	R PERSON	AL CHE	CK *** M	AKE MONEY OF	RDER PAYA	ABLE TO: V	ITAL RECO	ORDS			
FEE/ORDERING INFORMATION					FE		EE	Number of	umber of Copies AMOU		UNT DUE	
Fee for one certified copy of a Florida death or search record is					0.00	\$20.00	Х	1	=	\$2	20.00	
When purchased at the same time, additional copies of the identical 16.00 each.				ical death r	ecord are \$	\$16.00	Х		=	\$		
How many with cause of c	death:											
How many with/out cause of death:												
RUSH ORDERS (Optional): \$10.00 per order. This option provides quick processing within the Office of Vital Records only.							NO	=	\$			
TOTAL AMOUNT ENCL NOT SEND CASH).	OSED: Certified che		-				•		=	Tot	al Due	
FOR MAILING	CREDIT CARD L	JSERS ON	LY (Ar	plicant's	Name must ma	atch with	Name on (Credit Car	rd) ID r	equired		
Only accepted:	Visa	Master	٠.		Expiration:			CVV#:				
Card Number:					Card Holder'	s Name:						
DH 1961 6/13 64V-1.0131, Florid	da Administrative Code (Obsoletes prei	ious aditio	ons)								

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS

AVAILABILITY: Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had consistent registration. While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered.

ELIGIBILITY:

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of death.

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant. Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to the following individuals:

Decedent's spouse or parent

Decedent's child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;

Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent, OR

Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons.

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request. If after reading the above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for assistance.

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death. If not representing someone identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request. SPECIAL NOTE: Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death information included when filing probate.

INFORMATION NEEDED: A search cannot be made without the decedent's name and year of death. If any of the other items requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents' names, birthplace, etc) will be needed.

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE: Applicant's signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and telephone number.

Death certificates are available from 2009 to present. Death certificates older than 2009 can be obtained from the State Office of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville at (904)359-6900 EXT.9000.

MAILING INFORMATION

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH YOUR PAYMENT TO:

(PHOTO ID REQUIRED, NO PERSONAL CHECK ACCEPTED)

Mail to: Florida Department of Health VITAL RECORDS UNIT 1350 NW 14th STREET. SUITE 101 MIAMI, FL 33125

VISIT OUR WEBSITE AT:

HTTP://MIAMIDADE.FLORIDAHEALTH.GOV/CERTIFICATES/INDEX.HTML